Play dough, Puzzles and Musical Poetry

Today the girls had a snow day. I’m not sure why because the snow and ice was melted by 9:00 am… but, I’m glad that they were home. Normally I would spend half the day cuddled up with the kids and half the day doing house chores. I did clean up the breakfast dishes and throw in a load of laundry… but the rest of the day has been filled with fun crafts.

I made the girls some play dough by combining a cup of corn starch, a cup of baking soda and and cup of water on the stove, stirring constantly until it looked like mashed potatoes. Then I let it cool on wax paper for a few minutes and then gave the girls cookie cutters and rolling pins.

When the dough is dry, the girls will paint them. We punched holes in a few with a drinking straw to turn into ornaments.

Later I told the girls to make a pretty drawing and then cut it apart like a puzzle for their sister to figure out. They each bagged their puzzles to pull out on another day.

By far the most fun thing we did today was to make Musical Poetry. We took the song, “What a Wonderful World” by Louis Armstrong and set it to pictures that the girls and I colored. It took about an hour for us to color the pictures and then another hour for me to figure out how to set it to music, which I finally did with the timing right and everything! I scanned each image into the computer and uploaded them to iMovie and then added the song. You can make each frame longer to stay put until the words change… pretty cool! I then took the actual pictures and bound them into a book for the girls to look at.

Here are a few of our frames:

It was a fun day! Now… to cuddle up on the couch and watch a movie together! I love snow days!

ps – here is the link to our video: Wonderful World

About halfmyheart

I am a wife and mother to two wonderful children. View all posts by halfmyheart

One response to “Play dough, Puzzles and Musical Poetry

  • janet knight

    What wonderful talent my two granddaughters have. They take after their mom and dad. Thank you for sharing this. What a wonderful way to spend the day with your children!!!!!!!! Can’t wait to get home and hug, and hug and hug you all!!!! Grammy

Leave a Reply

