In a blink of an eye

I’m wondering if I’ve been in a daze where the days blend to weeks and to months. Somehow another school year is coming to an end. If time flies only when you’re having fun… then I guess you could say this has been an awesome year. Except that I don’t remember half of it.

Every year I try and be more organized, more focused. Every year I try and come up with a system to make the school year go slower. It never works. Thankfully my kids don’t feel that the school year goes to fast. Of course they don’t! I remember the school years… they seemed to drag on forever, until High School. Then time started to speed up. Just for one year I’d like to live on a quaint piece of land, homeschool my children and have no extra activities. I think the running from one activity to the next and always having your weekends full, makes the time fly. It is not often that we get a chance to be still.

So, how will we spend our summer? As always, at the end of July the girls will go to Vacation Bible School. It is the only week that they actually do a planned activity. Otherwise, we will swim, play tennis, have play dates and slumber parties, bake lots of goodies and make lots of silly crafts. I also want to have a time of devotions every morning… and just be still.

Psalm 46:10-11

10 “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

11 The LORD Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Sometimes we don’t take time to just be still. Turn off everything and just sit, listen, breathe in. My favorite place to sit still is outside on a crisp morning. You can hear the breeze through the trees and smell in the flavor of the earth. Having a morning quiet time helps me reflect on the beauty of quietness. Quiet is refreshing, calming and peaceful.

Steven Curtis Chapman \ Be Still And Know

Be still and know that He is God
Be still and know that He is holy
Be still oh restless soul of mine
Bow before the prince of Peace
Let the noise and clamor cease

Be still and know that He is God
Be still and know that He is faithful
Consider all that He has done
Stand in awe and be amazed
And know that He will never change
Be still

Be still and know that He is God
Be still and know that He is God
Be still and know that He is God
Be still
Be speechless

Be still and know that He is God
Be still and know He is our Father
Come rest your head upon His breast
Listen to the rhythm of
His unfailing heart of love
Beating for His little ones
Calling each of us to come
Be still
Be still

About halfmyheart

I am a wife and mother to two wonderful children. View all posts by halfmyheart

Leave a Reply

