Couch Potato

My dog is a couch potato… and he likes his pillows too.

Often it is easy to just lay back and do nothing. In fact, it is my preferred method of exercise relaxation.

I actually love my walks with a walking companion. While the kids were in school and I was only working part time, it was easy to fit a walk/jog in everyday. Now my choices are before husband leaves for work – or when he gets home. I need a little motivation to get going early. While husband gets ready for work, I stretch and play with the puppy. I make lunches, coffee and breakfasts. I have the time for a brisk walk – but that would require actually getting dressed and… moving. Gasp. So… what do I do?

Never give up! It’s very easy to give up when things don’t go your way. We’ve all been in situations where we get discouraged and made it difficult to persevere. Life is full of challenges. Nevertheless, it’s important that you keep trying. So, everyday I will wake up and try to persevere. I will win this challenge, eventually and then hopefully, just maybe, it will become a habit.

I’m calling this challenge “passion for perseverance”…  because I have a passion to succeed. If you remember, this time last summer, I tried the same sort of challenge. I have managed to wake up early, do stretches – etc… but still not the walk or run part early.  I have found the print out of my verses which includes Hebrews 12:11 which says, “11No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” I am going to re-print this verse in large bold print and stick it on my forehead, so when I rise in the morning, I am blatantly presented with the reminder to get my rear in gear.

The second part of the challenge is to continue my morning devotionals and stretches… and add to it, worship. I’m not sure how I am going to accomplish all of this before 7:00 AM, but that is where you come in. I am going to need some accountability partners – and what better way to stay accountable than to have you do this challenge with me? If you twitter – will you #P4P (#passionforperseverance) and document your mornings with me? That way our accountability will remain on the same thread. Whether you are trying to get exercise in before daily chores and routines start – or you want to do both parts, with devotions and worship too… I hope you can help keep me on track.

About halfmyheart

I am a wife and mother to two wonderful children. View all posts by halfmyheart

One response to “Couch Potato

Leave a Reply

