Middle School 101

Someone really needs to write a book on how to survive the middle school years… for PARENTS. Sigh.

Maybe it is just me, but I feel like middle school is a ton of work, not only for the kids – but for the parents too. I feel like I have ulcers in the pit of my stomach because of how much worrying I do. We’ve organized the notebook and folders, she does her homework – and somehow, somehow there are missing grades. I really want to be a fly on the wall to see what goes on all day in each class. According to the 6th grader, several boys in 2 of her classes are very disruptive and the teacher spends most of the hour scolding them and then the whole class about the way to act in school… which then takes away from classwork and instruction time.

Not only this, but the county has a site for parents to check the students assignments and grades. I am obsessed with looking at it twice a day. Not that it helps my imaginary ulcers, but I do it anyway.

I was thinking about the movie Frozen this morning. The song “Let it Go” really applies to me here… I need to let it go. I keep dwelling on the words “missing assignment” or the fact that she got 10 out of 12, on a homework assignment that I checked and all the math problems she did correctly. It is hard to be a mom.

 

About halfmyheart

I am a wife and mother to two wonderful children. View all posts by halfmyheart

Leave a Reply

